Andernos has been inhabited since prehistoric times, for around 10 years, as evidenced by the numerous objects (worked flints, scrapers, arrows, etc.) discovered near the "Le Bétey" stream. Some are on display in the small museum at Maison Louis David. The Gallo-Roman period was marked by the construction of a large villa (in the 000th century), the remains of which are located near the Saint Eloi church and the oyster port.
The town has survived through time, living off fishing, livestock farming, and forestry. Oyster farming began to develop in 1860.
In 1897, Andernos became Andernos-les-Bains by decree. From that date on, the town became a resort. Actress Sarah Bernhardt stayed there from 1914 to 1915.
The remains of a Gallo-Roman villa from the 4th century, near the Saint-Eloi church, which have constituted a historical landmark since August 28, 2024.
The Church of Saint Eloi: a stop on the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela. It dates from the 11th century.
The Louis David House: built in the early 1900s in the style of early 20th-century seaside architecture. It was owned by Louis Théodore David, Senator-Mayor of Andernos-les-Bains from 1905 to 1929. Today it hosts exhibitions of painting and visual arts.
The longest pier in the Bassin , measuring 232 meters. It was built in 1926.
Watercourses: Andernos is crossed by watercourses, Bétey, the Cirès, the Massurat, which are inhabited by exceptional fauna and flora.